Bach, J.S. - Sinfonia from Cantata No. 29

$ 24.95

TITLE: Sinfonia from Cantata No. 29
COMPOSER: Johann Sebastian Bach
PUBLISHER: Falls House Press
Paige Dashner Long

J.S. Bach’s magnificent Sinfonia to Cantata No 29 “Wir danken dir Gott, wir danken dir” – “We thank you God; we thank you” was premiered in Leipzig, Germany to commemorate the inauguration of the Town Council, on Aug 27, 1731. Originally the work was composed as the first movement of the Violin Partita #3 in E, BWV 1006. Bach transferred this prelude to his partita for solo violin and created a joyous orchestral setting including 3 trumpets, two oboes, strings, continuo, timpani and solo organ to be used for the inauguration. Today, this ceremonial sinfonia is often performed by solo organ. Scored for 2 piccolos, 5 C flutes, alto, bass and timpani.